Posted: Mon 10th Jun 2024

“Town boundary” and Board set for £20m town fund for people living in or visiting the Wrexham area

Councillors will agree proposals for the creation of a Town Board and Town Boundary, in order to “secure the Long-Term Plan for Towns programme in Wrexham, which includes funding of £20m over the next 10 years”.

The oddly shaped map has finally been released, with it noted, “Lead Members also wished to take some further time to consider the Boundary Map which delineates the eligible area for inclusion in the Long-Term Plan for Towns programme”.

The report before councillors explains, “Inclusion of places in the Long-Term Plan for Towns programme has been determined by the UK Government using the same selection methodology as implemented for other programmes under the Levelling Up White Paper. It is proposed that the Council’s preferred boundary for inclusion in the Long- Term Plan to be submitted by the Wrexham Town Board to UK Government by 1 August 2024.

It adds, “This boundary is intended to provide a clear focus for investment in order to maximise impact and legacy”.

No other detail is given on why some areas are excluded or included, and the report was unavailable at media brief so was unable to ask.

As we have previously reported the Town Fund is £20m paid in equal amounts over 10 years, and is 75% capital and 25% revenue.

Thus in the first year Wrexham is receiving £2m – with £250k of that already taken up by Wrexham Council in ‘capacity funding’ and ‘…is advanced from the revenue element of the programme’.

The Board is also made up of a range of familiar names that sit on similar Wrexham committees / groups / boards, with it explained, ” Town Board’s role is one of representation, involvement and strategy. As such, the Board membership seeks to represent those that have an interest in the proposed boundary for the Long Term Plan, irrespective of where they are actually located”.

There are no reports, agendas or minutes public as of yet from the new Board but it should be “community led”. In some detail on how the fund is operated, it is explained, “The Chair of the Town Board signs off on the submission of the Long Term Plan (by 1 August 2024) and other plans and proposals, co-signed by the Council’s s151 Officer. The Town Board will be shaped by appropriate governance arrangements to ensure compliance with the UK Government guidance relating to matters of transparency, code of conduct and declaration of interests.”

The Board listing from the report:

Town Board’s role is one of representation, involvement and strategy. As such, the Board membership seeks to represent those that have an interest in the proposed boundary for the Long Term Plan, irrespective of where they are actually located.
i. Chair: Rachel Clacher CBE, Co-Founder Moneypenny & Founder WeMindTheGap
ii. Member of Parliament: MP for Wrexham following election
iii. County Borough Councillor 1: Cllr Mark Prichard, Leader
iv. County Borough Councillor 2: Cllr Nigel Williams, Lead Member for Economy & Regeneration
v. Police & Crime Commissioner: Andy Dunbobbin (with representation from Stephen Hughes – CEO of the PCC Office)
vi. Member of the Senedd: Lesley Griffiths MS through a representative of the Constituency Office.
vii. Name: Ian Edwards
Organisation: Wrexham Business Professionals; Allington Hughes Law
viii. Name: Sam Regan
ix. Name: Graham Williams
x. Name: Reverend Canon Jonathan Smith
xi. Name: Dawn Roberts-McCabe
xii. Name: Iolanda Banu Viegas
xiii. Name: Chair / Trustee
xiv. Name: CI Stephen Roberts
xv. Name: Maisie Head
xvi. Name: David Elcock
Organisation: This Is Wrexham Partnership (Wrexham’s Destination
Management Partnership)
Organisation: Community Cultural Trust
Organisation: Christians Together in Wrexham
Organisation: AVOW (Association of Voluntary Organisations in Wrexham)
Organisation: Race Council Cymru/North East Wales Multicultural Hub
Organisation: Caia Park Partnership
Organisation: Wrexham Community Safety Partnership
Organisation: Wrexham University Students’ Union
Organisation: Wrexham University
xvii. xviii. xi x.
xxi. xxii.
Senedd yr IIfanc representative(s) – nominees are <16 yrs and therefore not named Name: TBC Name: TBC Name: Lt Col Nick Lock Name: Geoff Foy Organisation: Wrexham Civic Society Name: Final representative TBC Organisation: Wrexham AFC Organisation: Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board (Public Health) Organisation: City Centre Business Improvement District (BID) Steering Group Organisation: The Royal Welch Fusiliers, Joint Regional Liaison Officer for North Wales

Spotted something? Got a story? Email [email protected]

Have a look at...

Experience Chester Zoo after hours this summer with new ‘Afterglow’ event

Wrexham golf club raises thousands for lifesaving Wales Air Ambulance

Hospices say Welsh Government funding “needs to keep pace with the need for, and costs of, our services”

Who are you going to vote for? Take part in our quick straw poll!

Bellevue FC wins top award for inclusivity in Welsh sport

Last chance to register to vote in July General Election!

Llangollen International Musical Eisteddfod souvenir programme released

‘Do you know where your children are when out with their friends’, ask police after antisocial behaviour reports

Warning amid rise in scam job adverts used to steal personal information

‘Club and council reassess stadium plans’

New food and drink hub set to open as part of Chapter Court

Councillors probe Wrexham Civic Leaders Group’s initiatives, impact, and future plans