Posted: Thu 18th Mar 2021

Plaid Cymru’s Becca Martin wins Maesydre by-election and is Wrexham’s newest councillor for people living in or visiting the wrexham area
This article is old - Published: Thursday, Mar 18th, 2021

Wrexham has a new councillor – Plaid Cymru’s Becca Martin.

Today the residents of Maesydre have been going to the polls, either in person or via postal votes, and have returned a new councillor to represent their area.

The full results are below, as confirmed by Wrexham Council who were facilitating the election process:

Plaid Cymru’s Becca Martin 150 votes
Welsh Labour’s Tom Stanford 133 votes
Welsh Conservatives’ Cathy Brown 123 votes
Welsh Lib Dem’s Roger Davies 47 votes
Clive Ray – an independent candidate 36 votes

There were zero rejected or spoiled papers.

A 32.71% turnout with 489 votes.

The ward has been changeable in the past:

1995       Stuart Andrew, Conservative
1999       Stuart Andrew, Conservative, Stuart Andrew resigned in 1998 and a by election elected Chris Stubbs, Lib Dem
2004       Chris Stubbs, Lib Dem
2008       Carole O’Toole, Lib Dem
2012       Carole O’Toole, Lib Dem
2017       Paul Jones, Labour

The previous election in 2017 saw 565 people taking part in the poll out of 1500 possible voters, with the winner taking 249 votes.

The electoral excitement is set to return soon – with both Welsh Parliament and Police and Crime Commissioner elections shortly! You can make sure you are registered to vote via, and you can also apply for a postal vote via this form / process – and Wrexham Council have told us they are accepting scanned copies.

Some third parties may suggest using their forms to register to vote, or register for postal votes, but check carefully what you are opting into via that process – with Wrexham Council saying “Applications for postal votes should only be returned to Electoral Services, The Guildhall, Wrexham, LL11 1AY. They should not be returned to any other address.”

Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email


Rail strike to impact number of routes across Wales on Saturday


Bin collections in Wrexham to start earlier during hot weather


“Lifeline” bus service reinstated in Hightown three years after being axed


Speaker of the House of Commons visits “conservation powerhouse” Chester Zoo


24 hours in Wrexham City: Shoplifting, missing persons found safe and a plea to “pick up your litter!”


Wheelchair tennis initiative aims to uncover up and coming talent in Wrexham