Posted: Tue 4th Jun 2024

Major changes to Wrexham constituency boundaries for upcoming election for people living in or visiting the Wrexham area

A larger Wrexham constituency and thousands of local residents sharing their MP with people in mid-Wales are just two of the changes voters can expect when they head to the polls next month.

The upcoming General Election on Thursday July 4 will be the first fought under new constituency boundaries and a reduced number of Welsh Members of Parliament.

The changes were finalised and announced by the Boundary Commission in June 2023 after a several year review into the electoral map.

It will see a reduction from 40 parliamentary constituencies to 32, with each containing between 69,724 and 77,062 electors.

Picture © The Boundary Commission

Three consultations periods, and 5 Public Hearings were held during the review with over 2,000 representations submitted to the Commission both orally and in writing.

As a result there will be eight fewer MPs representing Wales after the July 4 election.

Locally there have been significant changes for voters across Wrexham – the biggest of which is the removal of Clwyd South.

Picture © The Boundary Commission

Previously residents in many villages across the county borough fell in this electoral constituency, which also encompassed parts of Denbighshire.

But on July 4 voters in the following areas will be casting their vote for an MP for Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr:

  • Cefn
  • Chirk North
  • Chirk South
  • Esclusham
  • Johnstown
  • Pant
  • Penycae
  • Penycae and Ruabon South
  • Plas Madoc
  • Ponciau

The boundary change will mean that residents in the above areas will share their MP with areas as far as Machynlleth, Newtown South, Montgomery and Llandrino.

We have also generated this map to show how the same end-to-end distance would be from Rhostyllen in a radius view:

The Wrexham constituency, which was until recently represented by Conservative Sarah Atherton, has been expanded.

Areas that were previously contained within the Clwyd South constituency have now been incorporated into a larger boundary.

Villages now included in the Wrexham constituency are:

  • Acton
  • Borras Park
  • Bryn Cefn
  • Brynyffynnon
  • Cartrefle
  • Coedpoeth
  • Erddig
  • Garden Village
  • Gresford East and West
  • Grosvenor
  • Gwersyllt East and South
  • Gwersyllt North
  • Gwersyllt West
  • Hermitage
  • Little Acton
  • Maesydre
  • Marford and Hoseley
  • New Broughton
  • Offa
  • Queensway
  • Rhosnesni
  • Smithfield
  • Stansty
  • Whitegate
  • Wynnstay

A third constituency now also covers some residents in the county borough – including those who live in Trevor and Froncysyllte.

These areas are now covered by Clwyd East – which is a three country ward covering Wrexham, Flintshire and Denbighshire.

Speaking last year on the laying of the Final Recommendations report, Shereen Williams MBE OStJ DL, Secretary to the Boundary Commission for Wales said:

“The Commission is delighted that its Final Recommendations report has been laid by the Speaker.

“It is our firm belief that these recommendations represent the best way to create 32 constituencies in Wales which meet the requirements of the Act, including taking account of geography and local ties.

“Though managing a significant reduction in the number of constituencies is never an easy task for a Boundary Commission, it has been made significantly easier thanks to the number and quality of representations we have received from the public, from Members of Parliament, from Political Parties, and from Principal Councils across Wales.”

The General Election will take place on Thursday 4 July. Make sure that you are registered to vote by June 18! It only takes a few minutes to do so make sure you’re registered and tell your family and friends to register as well.

Spotted something? Got a story? Email [email protected]

Have a look at...

Warning that North Wales is “hurtling towards” 1,600 care home bed deficit

Wrexham man jailed for repeated breach of criminal behaviour order

Senedd set for new First Minister vote on 6th August

200-million-year-old ‘three-eyed’ reptiles thriving at new home in Chester Zoo

New independent trader to ‘Ride the Wave’ at Wrexham’s Chapter Court

New Pontcysyllte Aqueduct car park approved to help tackle visitor parking woes

Council select Bromcom cloud MIS for 71 schools to “transform data management and communications”

Tackling retail crime “key priority” in north Wales, says police commissioner

Eluned Morgan confirmed as new leader of Welsh Labour – set for First Minister role

LFG! Deadpool & Wolverine floral artwork appears in Wrexham overnight

Save the date! Huge Playday event returning to Wrexham city centre this summer

Funding secured to continue Schoolbeat Cymru in north Wales schools