Posted: Tue 18th Jun 2024

Last chance to register to vote in July General Election! for people living in or visiting the Wrexham area

Time is running out to make sure that you are registered to vote in the upcoming General Election.

On July 4 thousands of voters across the county borough will head to the polls to have their say on who will be the next Member of Parliament for Wrexham and the newly created Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr and Clwyd East constituencies.

Registering to vote is quick and easy – but the deadline to do so is 11:59pm this evening (Tuesday 18 June).

In Wales you can register to vote if you are aged 14 or over and if you’re a British citizen, Irish citizen or a citizen of an EU country.

However you must be aged 18 or over to be eligible to vote in the July General Election.

You can also register if you have permission to enter or stay in the UK, Channel Islands or Isle of Man, or you do not need permission.

You can register to vote in the General Election here.

Photo ID

Voters in this election will also be required to present photo ID when they head to a polling station.

You can still use your photo ID if it’s out of date, as long as it looks like you. You can check the list of whats accepted as photo ID here.

If you don’t have photo ID, you no longer look like your photo ID image or your name on your ID is different to that on the electoral register than you can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate.

The last chance to do so is June 25.

You can find out more about eligible forms of photo ID here. You can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate here.

Election Wards

The General Election will be the first to take place with new constituencies.

The Wrexham area has been expanded and Clwyd South no longer exists for the parliamentary election.

Instead voters in the following areas are now classed as Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr – which covers large parts of Wrexham and mid Wales.

Those registered to vote in the following areas fall into the new ward:

  • Acrefair North
  • Cefn East
  • Cefn West
  • Chirk North
  • Chirk South
  • Dyffryn Ceiriog
  • Esclusham
  • Pant and Johnstown
  • Pen-y-cae
  • Pen-y-cae and Ruabon South
  • Ponciau
  • Rhos
  • Ruabon

The results of the Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr election will be announced in Powys.

Voters covered in the Wrexham constituency are:

  • Acton
  • Borras Park
  • Bryn Cefn
  • Brynyffynnon
  • Cartrefle
  • Coedpoeth
  • Erddig
  • Garden Village
  • Gresford East and West
  • Grosvenor
  • Gwersyllt East and South
  • Gwersyllt North
  • Gwersyllt West
  • Hermitage
  • Little Acton
  • Maesydre
  • Marford and Hoseley
  • New Broughton
  • Offa
  • Queensway
  • Rhosnesni
  • Smithfield
  • Stansty
  • Whitegate
  • Wynnstay

A third constituency now also covers some residents in the county borough – including those who live in Trevor and Froncysyllte.

These areas are now covered by Clwyd East – which is a three country ward covering Wrexham, Flintshire and Denbighshire.

The General Election will take place on Thursday 4 July.

Spotted something? Got a story? Email [email protected]

Have a look at...

Wrexham AFC announce signing of goalkeeper and defender

Wrexham Business Grant re-opening – but be quick!

Weather warning issued with more heavy rain forecast

“Significant” investment helps Wrexham bakery create 65 new jobs

All council employees invited to express interest in voluntary redundancy or voluntary early retirement

Smoke-Free Environment Officer introduced at Wrexham Maelor Hospital

Welsh Government needs to “win back farmers’ trust”, says first minister

Community fun day raises £1,400 for Wrexham Miners’ Project

Work begins on new Maggie’s cancer support centre in North Wales

Madness go ‘One Step Beyond’ to close Llangollen International Musical Eisteddfod

Wrexham AFC welcomes ten new scholars to Academy

Wales’ first fully funded Construction Degree Apprenticeships launched in Wrexham