Ty Pawb Report

Home Forums Wrexham.com Forums Wrexham Forum Ty Pawb Report

• Author

JaneJ
    Participant

Wrexham.com — the suspense is killing could you send out a link to the copy of the report you have as there is nothing on Council site

jimbow
    Participant

My local councillor who is on the scrutiny committee has as of 4.00 pm not received the report.

jimbow
    Participant

Well that’s it, onwards and upwards.

Not being a financial accountant, I find it hard to come to terms with some figures and explanations.

Page 5 4.8— Actual Total Expenditure 2021/22 £938k. Income £693k. This to me is a net loss of £245k of income over expenditure, yet factored in is a Budget of £133k, therefore reducing the In Year Deficit to £111k. To me the In Year Deficit should be £245k

Page 59– A breakdown of those figures:- Shows Arts & Exhibitions, Learning and Engagement, Events, Venue Hire, Car Park showing a surplus of income over expenditure to the tune of £132k. The Markets, Food Hall, Shops, Studios however are showing a loss of income over expenditure of £377k.

The nett loss between the two comes out at £245k, but given that the Report quotes the market food area at an occupancy level of nearly 100% yet are showing a deficit of £377k of income over expenditure defies logic.

It comes across to me all the high costs of staffing, repairs etc are lumped onto the markets area. This does not give a true picture of what is going on.

zinger
    Participant

Whilst not a lover of the building design of Ty Pawb or the market before it, I do feel that the pandemic had to have had an impact on the markets as with numerous other town centre businesses.

jimbow
    Participant

I don’t doubt that the pandemic had an impact on the markets. However, I do question the amount of the losses. The Council quote a loss of £112k, yet this has been governed by an opinion of somebody who budgeted in the factor of a loss of £133k. The actual loss in my opinion should be shown as £247k