Wrexham.com for people living in or visiting the wrexham area

MP and AM Choose Christmas Card Winners

NOTE: This content is old - Published: Monday, Dec 12th, 2011.

A festive design by a junior school pupil showing Santa’s visit to Wales has been chosen as this year’s Christmas card for Ian Lucas MP and Lesley Griffiths AM.

The card, designed by Borras Park Junior School pupil Katie Milton, will be used by both Wrexham’s AM and MP as their Christmas card this year and will be seen by recipients in Wrexham, the UK and across the globe.

The design was chosen by Wrexham Mayor, Cllr Ian Roberts, out of hundreds of entries from 14 schools across the constituency.

Katie, along with second prize winner Sophie Povey, of St Giles’ Catholic Primary School, third prize winner Olivia Richards, of St Mary’s Primary, and 11 Highly Commended entrants from the other schools, received her prize at aceremony at Wrexham’s Guildhall last week.

Lesley Griffiths said: “As ever, the standard of entries was very high and I would like to thank the Mayor and Mayoress for taking on the tricky task of picking a winner.

“I would also like to thank all the head teachers and teachers who helped out.”

The card was sponsored by five local firms; Wockhardt UK, Artenius Pet Packaging UK Ltd, Trackyou Ltd, Calypso Soft Drinks and DSL Mobility Ltd.

Ian Lucas added: “The support of local businesses, along with the excellent designs by local pupils, really does make these cards something special.

“Each and every child who took part can be proud – their cards really were superb.”

Highly Commended entrants were: Acton Park Juniors: Venus-Sky Nearey; Barker’s Lane Primary: Ben Matthias; Holt Primary: Cerys Route; The Rofft School: Joseph Rees Slawson; Wat’s Dyke School: Ruth Tierney; Ysgol y Heulfan: Aimee Lawrie; St Peter’s Rossett: Abby Hughes – Warwood; Victoria CP: Caitlin Edwards; St Anne’s Catholic Primary: Wioletta Antos; Hafod y Wern: Alex Hughes and Park School Llay: Anya Davies.

Share this now: