Wrexham.com for people living in or visiting the wrexham area

Leader and deputy leader of Wrexham Council re-elected however fresh meeting needed to decide committees

NOTE: This content is old - Published: Thursday, May 23rd, 2019.

The leader and deputy leader of Wrexham Council were re-elected yesterday, however behind the scenes political disagreements meant a new meeting in June has to take place.

Both Independent councillor Mark Pritchard and Conservative councillor Hugh Jones were once again the only nominations put forward to take on the roles.

It is the third term for Cllr Jones in the role of deputy leader – Cllr Pritchard serving as leader of the council since 2014.

Cllr Pritchard was nominated to continue in the role by Cllr Jones at yesterday’s AGM.

All but three councillors from the Plaid Cymru voted in favour of his election.

Cllr Pritchard then nominated Cllr Hugh Jones as the deputy leader and was seconded by Cllr Beverley Parry-Jones, rather than the usual backing from Cllr David A Bithell.

15 councillors abstained from the vote, with the majority choosing to re-elect Cllr Jones to the role.

It had been locally rumoured that Cllr Bithell was expected to have stepped up to the deputy leader role, however that did not occur.

In an odd twist a fresh meeting in early June is also now required to sort out who will be chairing what committee and similar decisions.

Wrexham.com had been told to ‘expect fireworks’ at yesterday’s meeting however with the decision being kicked down the road, any such tensions now have a couple of extra weeks to be smoothed over.

It is understood that two political groups, Conservatives and Wrexham Independents, are finding it tricky to agree on a Chair position that is being allocated.

In an email sent to councillors just before 3pm, ahead of the 4pm meeting start, the Council’s legal officer explained “I have been asked to prepare alternative recommendations for the above agenda item and attach for your information”. The last minute note contained ‘revised resolutions with associated explanatory notes’.

The resolutions were passed, knocking the final decisions over the Chairs, Vice-Chairs and membership of committees to an EGM on June 5th.

Councillors get a basic salary of £13,400 , but that rises to £22,100 for Committee Chairpersons.

The meeting was also notable as it was the first to be chaired by the new Mayor of Wrexham, Cllr Rob Walsh

Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email News@Wrexham.com

Share this now: