Wrexham.com for people living in or visiting the wrexham area

General Election 2019 Result – Conservatives take Wrexham & Clwyd South

Wrexham and Clwyd South saw decades as a Labour stronghold lost overnight night, with voters electing their first Conservative MPs.

During the early hours of today it was confirmed that Wrexham had elected Sarah Atherton and Clwyd South Simon Baynes as its their first Conservative Member of Parliament.

Wrexham has been a safe seat for Labour for decades. However with a 59% vote to leave the EU in 2016 and the narrowing of the vote share between the Labour and Conservative party in the past two elections, Wrexham last night started a new chapter in its political history.

It is also the first female MP that Wrexham has ever elected. Three of the six candidates for Wrexham were female – the most that has ever been on the ballot paper locally.

Turnout was down on the previous election with a turnout of 67.5%, a drop on the 70% back in 2017.

Speaking at the podium after being announced as Wrexham’s MP, Sarah Atherton said she was “honoured to be elected as Conservative Member of Parliament for Wrexham.

“I would like to thank the voters of Wrexham who have returned the first Conservative MP for Wrexham. They have returned the first female MP for Wrexham.

“However you have voted, I will represent you.

“Let’s get Brexit done and unleash Wrexham’s potential.”

The moment Sarah Atherton was elected:

Shortly after 2am it was confirmed that Clwyd South had also returned a Conservative MP.

In a constituency that Prime Minister Boris Johnson himself failed to win back in the ‘90s, Simon Baynes was also made history by becoming the first Conservative MP for Clwyd South.

He said he will “do his very best to represent everyone in the constituency regardless of their political affiliation”.

The moment Simon Baynes was elected MP:

Susan Elan Jones, who had been the Labour MP there for nine years said it has been “wonderful” to represent the constituency and said that her party needed to reevaluate its message.

Wrexham Results:

Conservative, Sarah Atherton 15,199
Labour Co-op, Mary Wimbury 13,068
Plaid Cymru, Carrie Harper 2,151
Liberal Democrats, Tim Sly 1,447
Brexit Party, Ian Berkeley-Hurst 1,222
Green, Duncan Rees 445

Clwyd South Results

Conservative, Simon Baynes 16,222
Labour, Susan Elan Jones 14,983
Plaid Cymru, Christopher Allen 2,137
Liberal Democrats, Calum Davies 1,496
Brexit Party, Jamie Adams 1,468

Thanks to all who followed our 5hr coverage overnight, as well as interacted in the democratic process via our Q&A videos with all the candidates and of course the two debates for each constituency! Wrexham.com was also able to help facilitate Deeside.com covering two consituencies as well, with another full live stream of a count taking place from Deeside.

You can view our full coverage from the Thursday evening through to the early hours below:

You can view our tweets from the evening and into this morning on the below archived twitter collection:

Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email News@Wrexham.com

Share this now: