Wrexham.com for people living in or visiting the wrexham area

Council Tells Boundary Commission “Its Wrexham – Not Wrexham Maelor”

NOTE: This content is old - Published: Monday, Dec 17th, 2012.

Wrexham Council has been responding to three consultation documents relating to the Boundary Commission for Wales report regarding a Review of Parliamentary Constituencies.

Trevor Coxon , Head of Corporate & Customer Services for the Council, has written a letter to the Boundary Commission for Wales explaining the current issue and the reason for the requested change:

This Council feels strongly that the proposed Wrexham Maelor constituency should be named the “Wrexham” constituency to reflect the name change to the area made in 1996 upon local government reorganisation. The consultation document makes clear that names of constituencies should predominantly take the name of the Unitary Authority or Unitary Authorities wholly or mainly contained in the constituency. The suggested “Wrexham Maelor” constituency is wholly in the County Borough of Wrexham and therefore should reflect that authority’s title.

The extension “Maelor” was a historic term for a former authority which was abolished in 1996. The Boundary Commission should not therefore perpetuate a name which is purely historical and bears no relationship to the current Unitary Authority name.

You can read the relevant report here – or have a read of the Boundary Commission’s website here which has revised proposals for Parliamentary constituencies in Wales.

Share this now: