Wrexham.com for people living in or visiting the wrexham area

Council Leader & Deputy to remain the same for 2018-19

NOTE: This content is old - Published: Wednesday, May 23rd, 2018.

Wrexham Council’s Leader and Deputy Leader positions are unchanged for 2018-19, with Cllrs Mark Pritchard and Hugh Jones holding the roles.

Esclusham’s Mark Pritchard is the Leader of the Independent Group, Cllr Hugh Jones represents Rossett, and is the Leader of the Conservative Group.

Clr Pritchard was the sole nomination, put forward by Cllr Hugh Jones. Cllr David A Bithell said he had the ‘pleasure’ of seconding the nomination.

The motion passed, but was voted against by Plaid Cymru, with Labour abstaining.

Cllr Pritchard nominated Cllr Hugh Jones as the Deputy Leader. The nomination was promptly seconded by Cllr David A Bithell.

Again it was passed, this time with Plaid Cymru group abstaining and Labour voting against.

Changes to the Executive Board itself are possible next month once Lead Member ‘picks’ are finalised by the ‘new’ Council Leader with the positions in his gift, with the appointments to be formally confirmed at the next Executive Board meeting.

Share this now: