Wrexham.com for people living in or visiting the wrexham area

Are you voting on Tuesday for a new Assembly Member? Alyn & Deeside By-Election taking place

NOTE: This content is old - Published: Wednesday, Jan 31st, 2018.

Readers to the north and north west of the town could be due to head to the polls on Tuesday (not a Thursday!) to vote for a new Assembly Member.

Many people we have spoken to over the last few days have been surprised at how close the Alyn and Deeside constituency comes to Wrexham and Clwyd South, and others unaware an election is even taking place.

The election will be the fourth Assembly by-election to be held since its formation in 1999, and the vote is taking place on Tuesday (6th) rather than the more traditional Thursday poll.

Five candidates are standing in the election they are, as pictured above:

Welsh Conservatives – Sarah Atherton
Plaid Cymru – Carrie Harper
Welsh Liberal Democrat – Donna Lalek
Wales Green Party – Duncan Rees
Welsh Labour – Jack Sargeant

As is natural for an election for Alyn and Deeside, Deeside.com has been keeping an eye on things – and has conducted a quick Q&A with candidates – at the time of writing all but one candidate has responded – you can check out the Q&A’s by clicking here.

Tonight BBC One Wales is broadcasting hustings via its political and current affairs programme ‘Wales Live’

Presenters Jason Mohammad and Bethan Rhys Roberts will host the programme from Deeside 6, the new £14m sixth form centre in Connah’s Quay. All five candidates standing in the by-election have been invited to the special broadcast, although it appears not all will be turning up, the BBC is also inviting an audience made up of local constituents to the by-election special.

The broadcast is on BBC One Wales from 10:30pm , for those of you unable to get BBC Wales, you can watch online via the iPlayer – making sure you change the location down the bottom of the page to Wales.

Colin Everett, Returning Officer for Alyn and Deeside has said: “We’re getting very close to polling day now, so we want to make sure that everyone knows how they can cast their vote and take part on Tuesday 6 February.”

“Your poll card will tell you the location of your polling station and if anyone has any questions there’s lots of information on how to vote at www.yourvotematters.co.uk or they can call our team on 01352 702412 and we’ll be able to help.”

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Tuesday 6th February – with more details on where and how to vote here.

You can view a detailed Ordnance Survey map via this link, that will load an interactive constituency map.

We have taken the below grab of the ‘border’ of Wrexham and Clwyd South, as there are many in Alyn and Deeside who could be more Wrexham looking.

Those who are are checking Wrexham.com will be signposted to the Deeside.com live coverage from the count – and subsequent declaration – that we think could be around 1am.

If you are in Alyn & Deeside and are not already following Deeside.com, check out their twitter @DeesideDotCom and their Facebook page here – make sure you turn on notifications and add to your feed properly as Facebook love to keep you in the dark more and more…!

Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email News@Wrexham.com

Share this now: