An aerial view of Wrexham from 1924 has been posted online this week as part of collection of aerial photographs from 1919-1953 (click below for bigger image).
The picture shows how much the landscape of Wrexham has changed with a railway dissecting the middle of the town and trams running down Brook Street.
St Giles Parish Church is clearly visible as well as the Tuttle Street brewery chimney part of the Soames Brewery, which became the Border Brewery in 1932.
The old High Street can also be seen leading up to the historic Wynnstay Arms Hotel.
There are a noticeable amount more residential properties and you can see several of Wrexham’s old breweries in the top right hand corner of the picture.
Wrexham.com is asking anyone with information on places shown in the picture to add them to this thread on our forums.
The picture is taken from the Britain from Above website which was launched this week.
It features some of the oldest images from the Aerofilms Collection, a unique and important archive of over 1 million aerial photographs taken between 1919 and 2006.
More pictures are expected to be added to the site, hopefully we’ll see a few more from Wrexham too!